Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Ricdeau
    Participant

Found this neat project over the weekend and decided to build a Retropie for myself. I’m curious if anyone has gone through the trouble to make an Xbox One controller work on it yet. I see that the latest Linux kernel 3.17 has support, but it was released after the latest build of this image. I’ve never really messed with Linux much so I’m at a loss on where to even start to try to update the kernel. My 360 controller took some damage from a drop so it’s not reliable anymore, but I find the Xbox One controller to be much better so I’d like to try to get it working if possible.

Thanks for any help that can be provided.

natecbc
    Participant

^^^ Same as this post’s author. I have zero experience with Linux and zero experience with terminal commands. Most of the recommendations expect you’ll know what buttons to push and how to save files. There seems to be some knowledge that is presumed.

I’ve yet to find a video that provides a working solution for the current retropie release and none that walk nOObs through this. I’ve spend more than 10 hours trying to get a controller set up.

I’m confused at how such a popular emulation platform for such a popular computer doesn’t have a very straight forward process for something as basic as controller set-up.

Secondarily I’m surprised that given the number of people reporting trouble getting their controllers to work that someone hasn’t created a definitive walk-through for beginners or that a patch hasn’t been released to make this better.

It took me all of a few hours to get the image flashed to the SD card, and put some Roms on it. At least 3 times that has been spent on controller configuration failures.

proxycell
    Participant