Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi,

I recently purchased a 2 player X-arcade stick (the one without the trackball).

The x-arcade stick is the older model that has a PS2 connection rather than USB.

My goal is to mount a RPi inside the x-arcade stick.

My question is should I use a PS2->USB adapter and also mount that inside the x-arcade or should I buy a control block adapter and use that instead of using PS2 at all?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

shabazz18
    Participant

I would guess you would be better off upgrading the xarcade with the newer usb control board. It’s available on their website.

petrockblog
    Keymaster

ps2 to usb adapter should work though.

sotein
    Participant

yes it works…. i use it..

tomtuttle
    Participant

I would love to have some more information on this. I am a novice relative to retropie, the pi and Linux in general, so I am grateful for your patience and grace.

I have the same, PS2, nontrackball X-Arcade box and the OP.

I’m concerned that the wiring may NOT allow proper configuration. I’m attaching a picture showing a PS2 keyboard plugged into the X-Arcade, the X-Arcade plugged into an X-Arcade Adapter via serial cable, and the X-Arcade Adapter plugged into the pi via USB.

I’ve tried to configure from the main emulation station window with:

– X-Arcade only
    – X-Arcade plugged in via USB and another keyboard plugged in via USB
    – The configuration shown (X-Arcade plugged in via usb and a PS2 keyboard plugged in to the X-Arcade)

In each case, the Emulation Station recognizes “Keyboard” but does NOT “see” simple things like pushing either joystick UP.

Before I spend more time on configuration, is there anyone who can either validate or refute the possibility of this scenario?

I’m not opposed to buying the $35 USB controller, but would like to hack together the available bits if possible.