Homepage Forums RetroPie Project New to RetroPie? Start Here! VIC 20 in Retropie?

Viewing 35 posts - 1 through 35 (of 39 total)
  • Author
    newpie
    Participant

Hi, I am totally new to Raspberry Pi and have no knowledge of Linux/Unix. I am happy I found this page and got Retropie running tho the setup must be very easy for you guys.

I love the variety of emulators but am missing my old VIC 20. I see that a part of VICE is integrated, emulating the c64, but the rest is not.

I would really love to play my favorite childhood VIC 20 game SHAMUS via Retropie again.

I saw a “Chameleon” retro gaming image but it doesn’t work on my Pi 2 and I’d rather use Retropie as I like it better.

Is there a way for a complete novice to integrate the part of VICE that emulates this homecomputer?

herbfargus

What are the file extensions for vic 20?

newpie
    Participant

PRG and the Shamus catridge’s ending is CRT

herbfargus

Have you tried running them? It should work.

newpie
    Participant

I have and it doesn’t, though the c64 emulator in Retropie supports .CRT files … not the ones from the VIC 20 though.

VICE is not one emulator but several. Each machine has a different emulator in VICE and the one for the c64 does not emulate the VIC 20. Sadly.

The VICE-emulator for the VIC 20 is called “xvic”.

For someone who has the knowledge I think it might be easy to put that one into the Retropie package together with the rest of the emulators. The c64-VICE is in there, so someone knows how to do it. I don’t know why the rest of the VICE emulators are not in there. Maybe no one thought that someone would like to play those old VIC 20 games. :)

herbfargus
    newpie
    Participant

“This is accessed by pressing any key on the keyboard”

I did and nothing happened! Took me half an hour to find out that you should press any key TOGETHER with the start button on your gamepad, not instead. :)