Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Some Roms and Emulators wont load up?! Noob need help!

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    mklax26
    Participant

I am very new to working with raspberry pi and retropie. I recently downloaded the retropi image onto my 16gb sd card. Loaded it up onto my raspberry and things started up fine. I then did some research about expanding the drive before adding in my roms. So I configured that and rebooted. Then I plugged in the thumb drive I wanted to use for holding my roms. retropie, like it should, created all the necessary folders within the thumb drive for my roms to be placed in. I shut down the pi, removed the drive added the roms to the corresponding folders.

Then I placed the drive back in the pi and booted it up. Emulation Station showed most, but not all of my emulators and roms. I have tried this a few times by reformatting the SD card back to the original image and restarting the process over again. Each time it seems to not show a different set of emulators and roms.

Is this because my SD card does not have enough room? I expanded its capacity and I do not have that many roms that should fill the drive. Could there be another factor affecting this? I find it strange that one time my NES roms work and not the Sega roms and then next time all my sega roms are detected but NES is non existent. Any insight would be helpful. Thank you.

labelwhore
    Participant

Firstly, you need to make sure your es_systems.cfg file has the correct file extensions for each emulator, and points to the correct path for your roms.

herbfargus

This video shows you how to view your es_systems.cfg file. It may help.

mklax26
    Participant

Thank you for the help! I will try this out tonight and let you know how I goes.

mklax26
    Participant

Hi guys,