Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project RetroPie white screens during loadup with certain roms installed

Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    jassinlive
    Participant

Hello

I am still very new with the RetroPie game and have come into an issue. Whenever I try to install roms for specific emulators (MAME, Gameboy Advance, N64) the RetroPie boots into a white screen. As soon as I remove these roms and reboot the Pi it loads fine.

I am successfully running roms on a handful of emulators including the GBC, NES, SNES, Ataris 2600, Genesis and Megadrive. My sixasis controller also loads and plays fine over bluetooth.

Is there an obvious step I may have overlooked? Is this a common issue? I cannot find anything with whitescreen.

Cheers

Sam

binne

I also had such problem with roms on specific emulators.

Hmm i think this problem was gone after change the permissions of the emulators.

At the moment i dont have access to my raspi, but im looking later for that.

It has to be something like this :

chown -R pi /path/to/the/emulators

Hope it helps

Cheers

jassinlive
    Participant

Thank you for the reply. Changing the permissions on the emulators did not fix this issue =(

trimmtrabb
    Participant

Could be not enough video ram, which model Pi do you have?

retchron
    Participant

Im having the same issue. I have some nes, snes and n64 on there now. But when I try to add anything else it white screens on load. As soon as I delete those files it boots up just fine. I have expanded the filesystem, that was my first thought too though. It says I have 11G available.

flickcorp
    Participant

I get somewhat the same error half of the gui shows and it’s frozen can still putty into it and reboot but nothing this happens when I load SEGA genesis games as well as some others onto the card don’t seem to have any issues with Nintendo games

jassinlive
    Participant