Homepage Forums RetroPie Project New to RetroPie? Start Here! Problem with MAME buttons "1P" and "Coins" with arcade controller

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    coccobanana88
    Participant

Hi there! I’m a newbie!
    I bought Raspberry Pi2 to create a retro arcade machine. I’m new with linux and programming, but i solved some issues thanks to tutorials found on youtube but I can’t solve this…

In MAME (mame4all) I press TAB to configure my arcade controller (http://www.ultracabs.co.uk/usb-interface–standard-joystick-set-109-p.asp). It works with all the 6 “normal” buttons but not with 1P and coins buttons (start and select in other emulator that works with retroarch). When I press these 2 buttons mame don’t receive input.
    In other emulators and in the emulationstation menus the buttons works, but none in mame.

Any helps?

coccobanana88
    Participant

I solved changing the emulator. With lr-mame4all it’s okay. The buttons works well but not for all the games and i can’t go on the control panel with TAB on keyboard.
    There is a shortcut/hotkeys for mame control panel?

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hmm there is a menu in Mame for configuring input. I have done it on my xbox controllers so select is put in coin and start is start (and LT is shutdown…bit of a problem when someone else is player 1 and they don’t realise heh).

I do not know why it would stop working though. It is indeed tab; but i think there is a config file in /opt/retropie/configs, possibly a mame subfolder that you can check? Maybe you can map entirely in the configs there (assuming they do actually exist).

That menu launchable by tab is also configurable so you may have accidentally unmapped/remapped it. If you cannot change it in a config setting I do not know what your best option is.

coccobanana88
    Participant