Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Issues with RetroPie Setup Script & Download?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    watercooledwizard
    Participant

I don’t know if its just me as I’m quite new to all this, but to set the scene:

In the last few weeks I’ve bought 2 x Pi 2s and have been learning the Linux commands and configuration etc (I’m a Windows guy and have never touch Linux before).

But basically, my process has been NOOBS > Raspbian > RetroPie setup script, probably about two weeks ago I went through that process and had it all working fine. However, I wanted to do some more configuration (static IPs, changing hostname, setting up SAMBA shares etc) so I ended up formatting and starting all over again.

However, to my surprise if I follow EXACTLY the same process again (NOOBS > Raspbian > RetroPie setup script, firstly I get an error about it not being able to install something in related to the PS1 emulator (not too bothered about), but essentially none of the ROMs load, they attempt to load but then return to the ROM selection screen.

I’ve just tried installing the v2.5 RetroPie image directly (as v2.3 doesn’t even boot on my Samsung 64GB cards) and that works perfectly, but I’m guessing this doesn’t have Raspbian behind the scenes as when I go to startx it doesn’t seem to allow me to do anything.

Are there issues with the RetroPie setup script (download?) or is it just me?

labelwhore
    Participant

It’s better to use Win32 Disk Imager to install from the images on this site in the downloads section, I’ve found. It simplifies the whole process.

I used the 2.3 image.

https://www.petrockblock.com/retropie/retropie-downloads/

watercooledwizard
    Participant

That’s what I’m using, but as said v2.3 won’t even boot on my cards (this doesn’t seem to be that uncommon looking around either).