Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Controller Configuration in RetroPie Controller setup working fine on menu, but not in game

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    davidgourde
    Participant

Hi all, I’m new to all of this and I installed the image with version 3 beta 4 on my Pi 2.

I am using a PS2 controller with a USB adapter. The controller works perfectly with the emulation station menu, but in game it’s not set correctly.

In Snes, Select and Start works, and a button (a or b) but that’s it.

I tested removing the .cfg in the config/snes folder and made a new config file, saved and rebooted, but it’s even worse, the controller is not detected at all. I put the original .cfg and everything is like before.

Please help me, I would LOVE to get it to work!

Thanks anyway for your time.

PS: Works fine with my keyboard. It’s really weird that it works in the menu but not in emulators (same for PSX).

thedigi321
    Participant

im in the same boat you are in, if you find a solution please let me know my face buttons work and shoulder buttons work but not the d pad or sticks mine is the twin USB thing but the adapter is a generic chinese adapter that uses the Twin stick config but it think there are to ports (#0, and #1) and just before the game starts it will switch between port 0 and 1 idk how to stop it. that might be where are problem is

svampebob1
    Participant

I have been looking in to this problem myself today.
    When you run the Wizard for configuring the controller, it saves the configuration to /opt/retropie/emulators/retroarch/configs/USBGamepad.cfg, but Retroarc actually is using /opt/retropie/emulators/retroarch/configs/USB_Gamepad.cfg.

Check the file USBGamepad.cfg and edit the file USB_Gamepad.cfg with the proper settings.

Floob

@davidgourde

Can you post the following files for me (using attachment or pastebin)

/home/pi/.emulationstation/es_temporaryinput.cfg
    /home/pi/.emulationstation/es_input.cfg