Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Peoples Projects Work-in-progress, my bartop cabinet…

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    khayman
    Participant

This is my first build and I wanted an old-style classic arcade cabinet but with the portability of a bartop. Hopefully to inspire the next generation to realize how awesome playing old Ms. Pac Man or Donkey Kong in a dark and noisy arcade was.

It’s coming along slowly but surely. I just figured I’d post a picture of what’s been done so far (there are other cut pieces not in the pic). Cuts are done and angled correctly and we’ve hole cut for the speakers. We dry-fitted some of it together this past weekend. We designed an angled front because since it will be two-player I wanted to make sure that in a 21″ wide space players weren’t bumping into each other for space.

Next up is to router the edges for the t-moulding and cut the holes for the controls. Then finish the sanding and joining and paint. Then start mounting the electronics and wiring everything up. Last steps will be to install the plexiglass.

Input and advice is always appreciated. I’ll try to remember to post progress pics as we go.

dpadder
    Participant

Thats really nice, I like the look at the front. I built one like that a few years ago. I will start to upload all my arcade cab designs to my blog within a few days at http://mancavemodder.blogspot.co.uk/

Check it out.

Keith

khayman
    Participant

I really like what you did there. It looks nice and clean. You may want to check your blog, it looks like some of the images are broken. Great job on modding the XBox controller too.