Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    roquen
    Participant

I work in medicine by trade. So I have no idea how elementary these questions are. So I thought I’d just ask anyway. Thanks in advance.

1. Does a multi-system approach take anything away from the ARM(pi-specific) build of an executable (compiled or script, etc). As in, if we targetted Raspbian as the core system, the pi as the hardware, and built with literally every function being the absolute ideal for the pi, without consideration for any other system, would it be more efficient than if we take a broad approach and include portability?

I ask because emulationstation has comments in the code that mention portability, and I feel like this type of code inherently creates inefficiency. again, I don’t know anything about programming, so it might be completely ignored when compiled, im just asking :)

2. emulationstation doesn’t seem to have a forum for discussion, is there a way we could openly discuss improvements, could we fork ES to fit our needs? I am not a programmer, so “we” really means “you” :P

from a design standpoint (I do pretend to be a designer) , the theme interpreter lacks a lot of basic functions I would like to see. Ultimately I’d like to see a ton of things, but basic functions like the ability to set attributes to header text, usage of the upper corner of an image instead of its individual 0x,0y point and the ability to define the menu font/color/pos/size/options within a theme file would be really nice.

One of the things I feel is most important above all else is efficiency of the system on the pi, and you’re really kicking ass at that so far. Due to my limited understanding of programming, I have no idea if there is anything that can be improved

The second most important is the idea that I can set this up with 2 controllers and maybe an apple-TV remote and hook it up to the TV and my grandma can use it without any issues for the rest of time.