Homepage Forums RetroPie Project New to RetroPie? Start Here! Snes Roms won't load

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    slove
    Participant

Complete Noob here,

I have seen a few people with this problem around the internet, but have yet to see a real solution. When I load up a a Snes Rom it goes to a black screen and says to press a key to configure launch options and then it throws me back to the list of roms. I have changed the roms to have read/write permissions and still no luck.

Any ideas?

petrockblog
    Keymaster
    herbfargus

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/issues/946#issuecomment-130401096

Reinstall from binary and they should work. If there’s any confusion see this video:

slove
    Participant

Thanks for your replies, I followed the instructions and I couldn’t find lr-snes9x-next.The only snes related things I could find was pisnes, snes9x, lr-armsnes, lr-catsfc,lr-pocketsnes and snesdev. I tried all of these bar snesdev and I get the same problem but the black screen lingers a little longer.

petrockblog
    Keymaster

I assumed you were on a rpi2 – the emulator is not available for the rpi1. Then you must have another problem – something broken in your set up. Please provide some information – eg rpi model, which image you installed and so on.

slove
    Participant
    petrockblog
    Keymaster

after launching a rom (which doesn’t work) – please check the contents of /tmp/runcommand.log and it might contain some information as to why it didn’t launch.

you can do this by connecting to the pi via ssh (eg using putty.exe on windows), and then doing

cat /tmp/runcommand.log

once you have logged in.

slove
    Participant
    02/09/2015 10:14:10.019 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.apple.quicklook[7396]) Endpoint has been activated through legacy launch(3) APIs. Please switch to XPC or bootstrap_check_in(): com.apple.quicklook