Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    stereopi
    Participant

Hi everyone, hope you’re all well!

I got my Raspberry Pi in the beginning of this week so I am new to all this. I chose the RetroPie as my first project and have been playing around with it for a couple of days now.

Even tho there is a huge amount of info on this forum (thank you everyone) and elsewhere around the web, I am still having struggles setting everything up properly / the way I want things.
    I have watched and read about every singe tutorial/guide I’ve found on the web but even with all these tips things are not quite right.

Setup: Raspberry Pi B+ (700MHz Processor, 512MB RAM, 4x USB Port)
    8Gb Micro SD
    32Gb USB Flash Drive

Using HDMI with ‘Sony Bravia’ 32″. Audio is also going through HDMI

I downloaded the latest RetroPie IMG (2.3) from the site and burnt it on my 8Gb SD card successfully, loaded the card in the Pi and turned it on.
    After the boot (when it asks you to set your controls for EmulationStation) I hit ALT F4 to get into the console as suggested, to first set up your pi.

MY STEPS:

I performed ‘sudo raspi-config‘ to access the set up menu.
    In this menu I did what people advised: ‘Expand File System’ and REBOOT.
    ‘Advanced Options’ split memory 256
    ‘Overclock’ set this to ‘medium’ (9000Hz)

After this I performed ‘sudo ./retropie_setup.sh’.
    In tis menu I also did what people advised: ‘UPDATE Retropie Setup Script’
    ‘UPDATE Retropie Binaries’
    Rebooted at the end.

After the reboot I get to the EmulationStation control set up, finish it and continue to EmulationStation.

Even after the updates, configurations and overclocking, the Pi isn’t really performing well (yet). I was wondering if you guys could help me out with these issues.

-First visible problem is the resolution or overscan. The EmulationStation menu is too large and some of the information doesn’t fit on screen.