Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Sd card problems. How to make room?.

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    droogkloot
    Participant

Hi there, i’m new to the linux and pi.
    Last week i bought my first pi. It’s the pi 2 b.
    I have tried openelec, success. Easy.
    Also raspbian, also easy install.

Now i have retropie. Installation on sd was easy but the emulator won’t start because there is no room on the card.
    Via raspi-config adding more space was not successful.
    Get an error.

What do i need to do?

flickcorp
    Participant

how3 big of an sd card are you using?

droogkloot
    Participant

My card is a 8gb class 4. It’s a sandisk.

droogkloot
    Participant

At this moment i’m looking at the sd…
    Partition 1 is 57mb. It’s called Boot.
    Second partition is 7,34gb.

What the pi says is that i have 1,8gb and 0 free.

milesw
    Participant

You should remove second partition with partition tool and resize the first one to full capacity of sd card.

It would be easier to remove all partitions and create just one and start over again.

droogkloot
    Participant

What you say is that i have to resize the boot partition to full capacity?

droogkloot
    Participant

Why is it when i install raspian or open elec it works and retropie it won’t?
    Today i tried some more but it won’t boot. Even with a newly downloaded image.

Is it possible to get the emulation station working in raspian?

petrockblog
    Keymaster

no – the boot partition should not be resized. sounds like the partitions are already correct – maybe the filesystem didn’t resize for some reason..

rewrite the downloaded retropie image to your sd card, boot into it, exit emulationstation and run

sudo raspi-config

and try expanding again.

if that doesn’t work I will try and help debug further. it shouldn’t give an error when resizing.

droogkloot
    Participant