Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Request: Step-by-step guide for configuring emulators

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    borlandoflorida
    Participant

Hi,

This is my first post (if that matters), but would it be possible to have a step-by-step guide to configuring individual emulators after the installation of Emulationstation please?

I am relatively new to this game, but have done other RPi projects recently so have a good understanding of certain aspects, but the one area I have struggled with is configuring individual emulators post-installation so that they run they way I would like.

At the moment I have managed to successfully get the Wiimote running over bluetooth and the wireless Xbox 360 controller working within emulators, but I had to do a lot of digging around to get the retroarch-joystick (apologies if this is not the correct spelling – going from memory here) script in order to configure the button inputs to an output file I could then use for the emulator.

The only issue I have at the moment is that I would like to be able to access the emulator menu so that I can configure internal aspects of each emulator (i.e. screen size, audio, overlay etc) but I’m struggling to understand how to do this. I did manage to get this up once by pressing F1 on my keyboard, but then I lost the option of doing this and could not figure out how to get this back.

Also, when I did manage to get into the menu, any changes I made to the configuration were not saved, despite having the setting enabled to save on exit. I was usually presented with an error message along the lines of “permission denied” (again, can’t remember exactly as I’m posting this at work).