Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Controller Configuration in RetroPie PS3 Controller not recognized (even through USB)

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    kirin
    Participant

Hello everyone!

I’m quite new to RPi, and recently bought myself an RPi 2. So, I decided to use it as old-school gaming station together with my Dualshock-PS3 controller (official sony, no 3rd party).
    I followed the guide on the github exactly ( https://github.com/retropie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Setting-up-a-PS3-controller ), but my problem is, that the Pi doesn’t recognize the controller even if it is connected via USB. Aka, the js0 file is not written in /dev/input.

Any idea what I could do?
    Could something be wrong with my setup/sd-card? Because, when I close Kodi (have it installed through the retroPi-Script), sometimes the Pi just freezes, and after hard resetting (power off/on) I get an “bad read/write IO error” or something like that, which keeps the pi in a bootloop, until I power if off & on again.

Thanks & Greetings
    Kirin

EDIT: I just checked lsusb – there it is connected & in the dmesg it is also found & initialized.

kirin
    Participant

So, the problem just solved itself – I just restarted the Pi after restarting sixad – and voilá it worked like a charm.

If someone on the internet someday has a similiar problem, I think the following steps might help:

1. Follow the installation-guide in the wiki up to the point where you pair with sixpair – just pair the controller.
    2. Then, just use the following commands:
    sudo sixad --stop
    First stop sixad if it was running somehow.
    sudo sixad --boot-yes
    Then put sixad in the startup
    sudo reboot
    Finally reboot the pi.

Best case: You just got your PS3 controller working via bluetooth. :)

tendonut
    Participant

You can probably skip step 2. Shutdown stops the service as well. But yeah, the built in PS3 pairing system doesn’t really seem to work.