Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Video Output on RetroPie Problems with scaling/smoothing

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    miskatonic
    Participant

Hello, folks, first post here… I’ve asked on the pi forums but no-one ever seems to reply to anything over there unless it’s impenetrably geeky (from what I’ve seen).

I’m a total noob when it comes to using linux but have been using/running emulators and building pc cabs for some time now.

I have retropie up and running fine but I have a few questions that I’d be happy if someone here could answer…

NB: I’m using a pi 2 B and a samsung 1080p tv. Also, I know precious little about linux as I’ve said so any help, well, if you could break it down so an idiot could implement any required steps it would be much appreciated :-)

1) How do I make the games display in their original, blocky glory ? Most if not all of the emulators seem to have some form of filter on the graphics that rounds off pixels and makes things look pretty grim. A lot of detail is lost with this, imo, and sometimes colours look blurry/smudged as a result. How do I turn this off on everything by default, is it possible ?

2) Sometimes when I quit roms there is a crackling/popping from the TV and subsequent roms will load without any sound until I turn the TV on and off again. Has anyone else had this issue, is it something I can fix/stop from happening or is it just “A pi thing” ?

3) With regards to fullscreening roms, what’s the best way to do this to maintain a ratio as close to the original as possible ? Presumably this would create less in the way of vsync issues and suchlike.

4) I seem to have either the top or bottom 10 pixels or so missing from some games, presumably this is linked to issue 3 above but any suggestions as to how to make sure everything is onscreen would be much appreciated.