Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Controller Configuration in RetroPie Please Help with Joystick issues

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    darkheart1984
    Participant

Thanks for taking the time. I am a total noob, like less than a week having my raspberry pi 2. I am running the newest retropie beta for the pi 2. Everything works fine with my ps3 controller. But my project for the arcade cabinet is the goal. Got my joystick set up from ebay

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2-Player-USB-mame-arcade-parts-kit-includes-2-joysticks-16-Happ-buttons-/171068993508

figured going off other plans would work great. Plug everything up as a test and configure with the emulastionstaion everthing seemed to be working up, down, left and so on. Went to the menu in retropie for the retroarch joystick config did the same thing. Went to launch NES mario bro. and nothing. I can hit one button and it makes me jump. Joystick does not let me move. I can also pause and exit using a two button combo to get back to emulations station. So WTF. tried a different emulator same thing. I tried MAME and was able to map the joystick and buttons to play galaga and worked left,right, and fire. So exited and went back to NES, see at the bottom it still sees the controller, and still can only jump.

So any help would be greatly appreciated, I tried google last night for about four hours and saw some similar issues or for all I know the exact issue and I just don’t see it, because I am a total noob. Not sure if I have the newest version 4, I believe its 3 but some of the commands I tried last night could of updated maybe not sure. The reason I am also using the beta ver is I could not get the 2.6 one to work with my wifi and read that the beta had a idiot proof setup. If you can help can u please dumb it way down for me

Thanks

darkheart1984
    Participant