Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Pi Never Reboots After Installing Retro Pi

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    mapper65
    Participant

Hi everyone, I’m new to Retro Pi and after two weeks of messing with this on and off I have never been able to successfully reboot the Pi once everything is installed. I can get the system up and running and I can get my ROMs installed and I can play games. Anytime I try and quit and disconnect the power it will never start back up again.

I’m using a Raspberry Pi 2 with an iBuffalo Classic USB Game Pad. I’ve tried using an 8gb SanDisk card and also a 32gb card. Since it seems like everyone else but me can get this to run successfully it has to be something I’m doing but I just can’t figure out what it could be. Surely this can’t be that difficult. I seriously have re-loaded this 10 times. I’m getting tired of re-imaging the card and starting all over again only to end up back in the same spot with the Pi appearing as though it’s bricked. I’ve never tried a second Pi with no luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

mapper65
    Participant

I probably should have mentioned that if I reboot, it reboots. If I quit and unplug the power, it never starts back up again. Sorry for the misleading title.

shoothere
    Participant

So you have tried with 2 different SD cards from what you mention?

Are they class 10 cards?

mapper65
    Participant

Yes, SanDisk Ultra Class 10. It’s only when I select Shutdown System that it never reboots again. When I power it back up, it looks like the card is being accessed but nothing ever shows up on the monitor.

mapper65
    Participant

Ok, I FINALLY figured it out after two weeks of messing with it!!!!

I found a page that went into details about the config.txt file. I tried uncommenting a bunch of stuff out one at a time and the only line that allowed me to finally get an image when I commented t out was:

# hdmi_safe=1