Tagged: ,

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi,

Hope someone can help? I’m very new to this and it was all going so well.

I installed retro pie 3 last week when my new pi3 came, it was going into an arcade cabinet me and a friend were building. I was able to connect to it using filezilla and was able to transfer roms, all was good.

Yesterday i fired it up for a quick test and I can’t see the wlan0 interface at all. Running ifconfig only shows eth0 and lo.

I don’t have a long enough cable to connect it to my router so I’m a bit stuck.

I had gotten the latest versions of doing an update command before putting any rooms on and it had rebooted a few times before it failed, so I’m stuck as to what could have broken this.

I followed some posts about editing the interfaces file to make sure wlan0 was in there, mine now reads

auto lo
    iface lo net loopback
    iface ethic net manual
    auto wlan0

Can anyone help a noob?

Thanks

Marc

meneerjansen
    Participant

What you might try:

In Emulationstation/RetroPie go to: Retropie (i.e. the setup menu) –> Configure WiWi –> choose ‘Connect to WiFi network’

You’ve probably done that already and apparently it won’t work. Unfortunately for you is that this dialog screen already does “every Linux trick” in the book to connect.

Since successfully connecting to your beloved Pi the first time: did you change something w/ regard to hardware? Like connecting other USB devices? An USB hub? In my experience WiFi can eat a lot of power and due to extra hardware your Pi might be under powered now.

P.S. The way I force my Pi to connect to WiFi is:

sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    And then wait a minute.

Check IP address and if your connection is up w/:

ifconfig
    Good luck! :)

P.S. Thanks to Buzz I corrected the typo in wlan0.

petrockblog
    Keymaster