Homepage Forums RetroPie Project New to RetroPie? Start Here! New to Retropie and Linux in general – couple of questions

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    maplicito
    Participant

I only just got Retropie up and running last night, so I haven’t had much of a chance to do anything yet. I’m also very new to Linux based systems – my only exposure was over a decade ago, and was very brief – but, although I’m long since removed from MS-DOS, I did have a lot of experience with it, so I’m not entirely new to command lines.

Anyhow – first question – USB syncing. I have successfully gotten ROMs onto my pi, but I’m wondering about removing them. I’m not home, so I can’t try this right now, but if I remove ROMs from my USB drive, will the pi sync by removing any ROMs that don’t exist on the USB drive, or does it only add from the USB drive.?

Second question – I have a TP-Link TL-WN725N (don’t know if it’s V1.0 or V2.0). I could not get it running. Running the lusb command, I could see my gamepad, and I could see my keyboard, but I couldn’t see the wireless adaptor. Going though online tutorials didn’t make any sense – it could be that I was sleep deprived, and they’ll make more sense to me when I go through them again.

My first thought is that the adaptor requires more power than my pi can provide, and that I need to run the adaptor off a hub. Is that likely? Or is there something else I need to do to get the pi to recognize the adaptor, and get it running?

Thanks!

herbfargus

I haven’t tried the ROM syncing thing so I wouldn’t know about that but the wireless adapter you’re having problems with is known to have problems… You might have better luck just buying a new one, or you can attempt to install the drivers it needs

http://smartretro.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?t=50

maplicito
    Participant