Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    socalretrogamer
    Participant

Hey everyone.

First off, I’m fairly new to RetroPie/Emulation Station, but this site has been invaluable for every issue I’ve had thus far, so thanks for that! My brothers use a Retro Arch setup on their computers (not Raspberry Pi) and they told me there’s a NetPlay feature in the main menu. I have a Raspberry Pi 1B with the latest version of RetroPie, but I haven’t seen anything about Netplay. I’m curious if there is a way for my brothers and I to set up some sort of a RetroPie/Raspberry Pi server so we can actually play with or against each other from across the country. Has anyone set something up like this? If so, I’d love to learn how. Thanks again.

shadowfox7x
    Participant

I’m just starting my trial and error setup of netplay. I have a RPi2 and i’m trying to get this to connect to a friends desktop to play across the country like you are indicating. At this point what I have learned is that you must both be using the same version of retroarch, emulator and rom. I’m messing with the client and Host end configs now and seeing how to make this work. If I figure this out or if you do please let me know.

herbfargus

hey I made a quick wiki page off the top of my head from when I got netplay working. I will work on adding screenshots and whatnot once I have the chance:

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Netplay

see also:

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/issues/967

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/pull/938

http://fightanvidya.com/wiki/index.php?title=RetroArch_(SNES_netplay_and_more!)

shadowfox7x
    Participant