Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Need help on several issues(mostly video)

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    petro62
    Participant

Sorry the generic title but it is true.

I am completely new to all of this. I followed some online tutorials on how to get everything up and running. By all definition everything is up and running but I have a few issues

The main screen where you select your emulator/games(Apple 2, nes,etc…) seems to be slightly oversized and then when I load games (sega,nes) they are just a small box in the middle of my tv.

The menu part doesn’t bug me but I would like to get the games to use more of my tv’s screen.

Also is there a better way to pick your game from the menu. I guess I should say how do I quickly pick a game out of a list of 900.

Again I am extremely new to this so you may have to dumb things down a lot for me or if you have a link to a really great walk through that would be amazing. Thanks in advance.

Oh so my pi is hooked up via hdmi in case that is important.

supersirlink
    Participant

I would start by checking the settings in the /Boot/config.txt for you video mode.

Take a look here:
    http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt

Once you get a controller setup, there is a key to be able to jump by first letter or last played, ect…

petro62
    Participant

So can I edit the boot/config file from the pi or is that when I have to connect to a router and go through an FTP? Could you recommend a good free FTP. I downloaded one but when I typed in the inet address I couldn’t connect to the pi. I am sure I am doing something wrong just not sure what.

Thanks for the help

FreezX
    Participant

@petro62: Do this with a wired connection to make sure it isn’t a wireless issue:

Get a copy of FileZilla; I’m using it on my Arch Linux box with no issues. Just to make sure that you are using correctly, got to

File>Site Manager>New Site