Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello folks. I am new to this forum, and I would like to introduce myself first, before I ask for any help here. I just downloaded an EmulationStation 2 image and installed it on my little Raspberry. I am new to Raspberry, but in the past I used a lot of emulation of the GP2X. But that is almost 8 years ago, and I think time is right to test some embedded emulators. Aside from that I am a computer science student, and Arch Linux is on my desktop computer. Therefore many Linux commands are already known for me.

When I first started the emulation station, I was visually impressed, because it just looked beautiful, and even my gamepad was recognized perfectly fine and I could use it in the menus. No keyboard needed at all. So I got some games on the system and tried to play a game, and my impression faded away. The controller setup is a mess. Here is a setup of controllers that I would like to for megadrive emulation:

[img]http://i.imgur.com/26tGSXp.jpg[/img]

It’s an playstation 2 controller (with adapter) and a WingMan Cordless Rumblepad. Since they both are generally very different, they need to be configured differently.

The WingMan controller is generally pretty perfect for Sega emulation, because it has C and Z which can be mapped to C and Z of the genesis controller. But I don’t know how to do that with this system. First of all, it is not helpful when someone else decided to map everything to a “360 compatible gamepad” and I have to guess how that mapping might look like, so that I can undo that mapping. And second, I am still confused by all these different configuration files and locations that I am able to use.

[code]
    ls /opt/retropie/emulators/RetroArch/configs/
    GreenAsiaInc.USBJoystick.cfg (adapter for DualShock2)
    LogitechWingManCordlessGamepad.cfg
    [...]
    ls /opt/retropie/configs/all
    dgenrc
    retroarch.cfg
    retroarch.cfg.bak
    retroarch-core-options.cfg