Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    bobbyt
    Participant

I’m trying to figure out the keys for my gamepad, so I quit emulation and exited to the command line.

I first tried typing jstest /dev/input/js0
    only to get: Command not found

So I eventually found the following command:
    sudo apt-get install joystick

Which I ran. It proceeded to go though a process which then asked me if I wanted to continue. I selected yes only to get a short list of URLs all saying (111: Connection refused).

I tried googling that and ended up seeing it’s likely something regarding proxy setup. That being said, I’m not sure how to get around this…

I’m using SD image 2.3. I’m a newbie & I’m not certain how to get around this problem so I can figure out my gamepad button mapping so I can assign them to emulators…

Anybody have any help here???

Floob

If you are trying to get a USB controller working with RetroPie, you can use the setup option in the RetroPie setup script.

bobbyt
    Participant

I’m not sure what you mean by RetroPie setup script.

At first I thought you meant ./retropie_setup.sh but I quickly found this is a tool for downloading an updating the RetroPie binaries (which suffers from the EXACT same connection issue (111: Connection refused) when I try using it).

The only other thing I can find corresponding with setup is the USB controller setup inside the emulator environment. The problem with this is it seems that mapping doesn’t carry though to the emulators too well, or at all…

When I run one emulator only the direction pad and 1 button seem to be mapped correctly, the others are all over the place or non existent (‘start’ seems to be hiding in one of the primary keypad buttons, and one of the shoulder buttons has no effect (while the other shoulder button is the only one mapped correctly)).

When I run another emulator I get no response from any of the buttons. I’m stuck at the intro screen…