Tagged: ,

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello!
    I’m new to retropie but I have a raspberry pi 2 that I set up with version 2.6 from the sd card image.

I’ve been trying to play Paper Mario and Legend of Zelda OOT. They both run, a lil glitchy on the n64. Paper Mario has messed up menus and text boxes, and a lot of things are like double or triple vision which makes them hard to read. Zelda crashes if you save, or even go to that menu.

I decided to try n64-mupen64plus because I’d read it would be better, but both roms crashed before I could even make a save file. Zelda crashed at the black mupen64 terminal screen and paper mario crashed when I pressed start on the start screen. In both cases, the entire pie became unresponsive, and I had to pull the power and reboot.
    Then I switched to the rice plugin. Zelda I can now get to pick a name, but the buttons map wrong and it wont display the letters I input, nor will it let me continue past that point. And Mario freezes at the same place, but this time the audio keeps going and I can exit, so the entire pie is Not frozen. It’s an improvement, but neither game is playable this way.

Can anyone help me get these working, maybe post their configurations if it’s a video thing or help me understand whats going on?

Thanks a bunch :)

EdIT: if it helps at all I’m using a gamecube controller.

geoldr
    Participant

I am also playing around with the N64 emulators, basically it seems like a pain.

You should check out the RetroPie 3 Beta 2 image, as there is supposedly some improvement for N64.

Also – Check out this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lh0n5PWN2lI (towards the end)
    The guy posts his config, and it seems to work well for him.

One more thing – there is a forum member on here ‘Floob’ he is very good with configuring the RetroPie image. Maybe see if you can reach out to him and have him visit this page and help us out.

Anonymous
    Inactive