Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

So I’m having a bit of an odd problem…

I modified my Retroarch.cfg file to include:
    input_enable_hotkey_btn = “8”
    input_exit_emulator_btn = “9”

Where 8 and 9 are the select and starts buttons on my USB SNES controller. In the NES, SNES, and GBA emulators, pressing start and select backs on out to Emulation Station.

However, on Genesis nothing happens. I’ve also noticed that in Genesis games, the select button is actually functioning as start.
    Maybe those are correlated? I also can’t seem to find any Genesis or Megadrive .cfg file to look into when I’m exploring in LXDE. But I’m very new to this, so I might be missing something.
    If anybody has any suggestions or knows why this is happening, advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Mutex
    Participant

The Genesis emulator used in retropie right now is not part of retroarch. So changing stuff in the retroarch.cfg won’t change anything in that specific emulator. In your config/all/ folder lies a second config file next to your retroarch.cfg. It’s called dgen.* (don’t remeber the exact name). That’s the file you’re looking for. When you open the file you will see that it already has configured bindings for your gamepad. To change your select & start button on  the gamepad just switch the values of the two entries:

joy_pad1_mode = joystick0-button9
    “joy_pad1_start  = joystick0-button8

I don’t now if it is even possible within DGEN (the Genesis emulator) to emulate the behavior of the hotkey button thingy in retroarch, but you can add a custom exit button to that config.

Hope I could help you & good luck changing the config.

jbaker1225
    Participant

Thanks. That certainly helps explain why the behavior is not the same.

Would you happen to have any idea how to add a custom exit button to the config? Say I wanted “Select” to just be the exit button in Genesis?