Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Crackling sound with snes9x-next and RPi 2

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    ertain
    Participant

Hello everyone.

I installed RetroPie (binary packages via the RetroPie script) on my Raspberry Pi 2 last night and it looks pretty snazzy. I started it up, messed around with it, and liked what I saw. But when I started playing games, I hit a wall.

When I play a big game like Seiken Densetsu 3, the sound is terrible (crackling and can’t keep up with the game). The emulator I’m using is snes9x-next. The reason for that is because that’s the only emulator which can actually display the ROM correctly (textures, text, and all).

I have overclocked the device to the “High” settings, yet that hasn’t solved the problem. I have also changed the “audio_driver” setting in the retroarch configuration file (retroarch.cfg) to “sdl2” as well as “alsathread,” but those haven’t helped, either. Also, other emulators haven’t run properly.

I have tried PocketSNES, but the resolution doesn’t look so good. PiSNES can’t even render the resolution properly. And other available emulators don’t even hold a candle to PiSNES nor snes9x-next.

Here’s my set-up, if that helps:

• Raspberry Pi 2 B
    • HDMI connection
    • HDTV which can display 1080P @ 60Hz
    • Raspbian with recently-installed RetroPie
    • Using Wii U Pro Controller via a Bluetooth dongle

And here’s a couple of my configuration files:
    retroarch.cfg file
    Raspberry Pi 2 boot settings (note: this config file was changed to the “None” settings for the Raspberry Pi.)

jamesandjome-com
    Participant

Hello,

I am in no way an expert however I can share with you my findings that I used to get smooth sound in PSX Emulation.

When I was in the PSX emulator I pressed the hotkey and F1 to bring up the menu.