Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Okay, so, I’ve set up the RetroPie emulator on my Pi and I have it connected by HDMI to my 32″ TV.Now, the issue I’m having is as follows. Almost everything is crazy laggy. The only games I’ve managed to actually play are low-graphic NES games, such as Castlevania and Bomberman. SNES & GBA games for example, are completely unplayable.

Worth noting, I am an amateur when it comes to Raspbian (And Linux in general) so some settings I may have done, might not have affected the rights things.
    I have my screen resolution to 680×480 (in /boot/config.txt)
    Medium OC.
    I use one Tomee SNES USB controller, and that works okay so far.

So, any idea what this could be? Any other settings to make the games actually playable?

Thank you!

petrockblog
    Keymaster

Do you also observe this when the USB controller is not connected to the RPi?

Wysee
    Participant

I forgot to mention, I was also running a USB-hub, and removing it removed some of the lag. No lag is reduced without the controller.

So, now some games are playable, although GBA games, and certain SNES games are still pretty much unplayable. Is there any settings one could do to reduce the lag?

Anonymous
    Inactive

What Raspberry Pi version do you have? The A or B?  I have no lag with SMW, but the GBA lags for me too. I have the B version with 512Mb RAM. There could be a gaming edition of Raspberry Pi.

Wysee
    Participant

I’m running the B version (newest), with 512MB, and I still have the lag.

Could it be that x is running too? Is there a way to test it without running x? As I’ve heard this is possible.

floba
    Participant

got the same problem with vba-next,

but playing around with the “e” of the keyboard (slow motion) it toggles to real speed

can you reproduce it?