Homepage Forums RetroPie Project New to RetroPie? Start Here! Confused beginner here, many questions

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    csurockstar
    Participant

I have the rpi 2 running Retropie 3.0 beta 2 (i think?) and the xarcade tankstick + trackball. I’ve been struggling with things the past few days and can’t seem to find my specific problems…here goes.

MAME-can’t get anything to work in any mame program. I got the 0.37b5 set and used filezilla to put them on the mame4all roms folder. When I open any of them I get the “xyz files missing” that seems to be a common problem. Not sure how to fix it though. I tried putting the BIOS in there with the roms and no result…do I even need to do that??

xarcade tankstick – How do I get games to work with the trackball? There doesn’t seem to be any setup for that in the configuration screen where I mapped all the buttons and joystick movements. This isn’t really a problem yet since none of the MAME games work, but I imagine I will run into this issue right away with games like centipede.

FBA vs ScummVM vs MAME – I really want to play Golden Tee 2k, and I have a few versions of the rom for it, what emulator supports these and other trackball specific games?? I can’t find anything in any forum about how to get this game going with the xarcade tankstick in any specific emulator.

I have however, after many attempts, gotten all the NES roms to play and I want to thank everybody involved in this for how wonderful this can be!! Pinbot brought me back to being 10 years old again! Now if I can just get Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, etc and figure out how to set this up I will be a happy soul.

Thanks in advance for any help!!

Floob

Are you sure your 0.37b5 romsets are correct?
    You can verify that by using the dat files on this page:
    https://github.com/retropie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Managing-ROMs

In RetroPie 3, those roms should go here:
    /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/mame-mame4all