Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Can't get any controllers to work correctly

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    kody
    Participant

Full disclosure: I am a total linux noob, and this is the first thing I’ve tried to do with my Pi.

I downloaded the v2.3 image and installed it 2 days ago, following a walkthrough video on youtube. I updated the setup and binaries as instructed, then moved my roms onto the device. I can open emulation station and launch my SNES games just fine. The problem is that my controllers just stop working once the emulator starts.

Sometimes some of the buttons will work, but the d-pad seemingly never does. I’ve run: sudo ./retropie_setup.sh and did the Retroarch controller setup probably 50 times with 3 different gamepads, but it doesn’t seem to do anything. As soon as I get back to ES and run an emulator the controllers just stop working.

I’ve wiped my card and started from scratch 3 times to no avail. Some of the posts I’ve seen to fix problems like this seems to reference a file structure that doesn’t exist in v2.3. Many posts I’ve seen talk about editing the retroarch.cfg file, but I can’t find that thing anywhere.

I tried installing Raspbian on another card, and installing RetroPie on top of that so I could use the GUI to try and find the .cfg files, but I can’t even figure out how to launch emulation station from Raspbian without getting an error.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it.

Floob

You could try rebuilding it, then without updating the retropie script run the controller config.

kody
    Participant

Thank you for the reply Floob, but I got some help from someone on Neogaf last night who is a lot better with Linux than I am. This is the code that he gave me which worked on my version 2.3 build.

sudo chown pi /opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg
    cd /opt/retropie/emulators/RetroArch/installdir/bin