Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Controller Configuration in RetroPie Can't change custom controls per emulator

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    fantasticdan
    Participant

Raspberry Pi 2, Wheezy, Current emulationstation/retropie (afaik) installed from the binary option during the initial retropie script install when following the setup guide. Using a 360 wireless controller. Most everything functions as intended; stuff launches games, Kodi is listed under ports and working, and I can quit back to the menu most of the time without having to ssh in from somewhere else and issuing a reboot.

I’m somewhat comfortable with Linux, most of my background is in Windows with a little Unix. I picked up a Raspberry Pi 2 as a learning exercise mostly, and found about this project after purchase and am now too far down the rabbit hole to back out. Anyway…

I did the initial 360 controller config during startup, and controller works fine with default controls under everything I’ve tested. However, the controls are backwards from default SNES, NES, etc, plus some controls are missing from some emulators so I’d like to adjust buttons around uniquely on a case by case basis.

I also need to assign different hotkeys like save states, core options menu, etc, but when I change the retroarch.cfg file in the emulator folder it doesn’t seem to have any effect. I’m copying settings either from the 360 config file from /retroarch-joypads/, or the retroarch.cfg file under /opt/retropie/configs/all/. The only thing I’ve been able to successfully do so far is to add:

input_enable_hotkey_btn = “10”
    input_exit_emulator_btn = “10”

to the /all/retroarch.cfg to make the xbox button quit back to the menu. I read something about the input_enable_hotkey needing to be set to enable shortcuts, but I couldn’t figure it out based on trial and error.