Homepage Forums RetroPie Project Everything else related to the RetroPie Project Advanced Launcher plugin usage under Xbian

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    calcon79
    Participant

Ok so first I will admit that I am a Linux noob so I am pretty much tinkering with this setup but I have managed to get something working using the Advanced Launcher plugin. So far I can launch xbian-config and LXDE and automatically return to XBMC after closing these programs. I found two files named applaunch.sh and stop.sh from the following forum.

https://code.google.com/p/romcollectionbrowser/issues/detail?id=136

The last post yielded the settings that worked for me. I made a minor tweak to the stop.sh file so I have provided the files on here.

Despite successfully launching these programs from XBMC, I cannot for the life of me get it to work with emulationstation. The scripts use a screen command to keep a terminal session alive after stopping xbmc. Otherwise the original script will terminate along with the stop xbmc command. As far as I can tell the openvt command opens a virtual terminal session as root. It seems emulationstation will not run as root. I’ve tried many different things. It seems I cannot force the command passed to openvt to be run as user “xbian”. Does anyone have any ideas for how to get emulationstation to run in a shell script that is being run under a root user?

My last resort option was to try and create a script which might incorporate the following to force emulation-station to start on a reboot

sudo update-rc.d xbmc remove
    sudo update-rc.d emulation-station default