Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Inactive

Hi everyone. I am new to raspberry Pi, and started my foray into this world with a retropie project. All was going well until trying to play c64 games. I can configure the controllers (usb snes controllers) upon loading a game, but the settings refuse to save no matter what i do. I have googled for hours and found limited information. Many said to create the.vice directory, and check file permissions, but it already exists. Only owner had rw permissions, so i changed all to rwx (suggested on a post i found). When i try to save the settings in the vice menu, it states that it cannot save still. This is really driving me crazy, any help is appreciated.
    I have a raspberry pi 2 B and running retropie 3.3.1 SD card image.

herbfargus

In all your googling did you look at the official documentation?

https://github.com/retropie/retropie-setup/wiki/Commodore-64#controls

There were some similar issues with gpsp (that still aren’t quite resolved) where we had to change perimissions of the files in the /opt path. It’s possible there is something similar going on with VICE.

herbfargus

For reference for others:

Anonymous
    Inactive

These are two posts that i have looked at numerous times in my googling, but they haven’t helped at all. I follow the steps in the wiki, they don’t save. I create the directory as mentioned (says it already exists), change file permissions, still doesn’t work. This was my last resort as i have no idea what i am doing wrong. Please be assured that i am not being lazy and merely posting here with the first issue i encounter. Cheers.

Also, when i quit emulation station back to the Linux module (?), in the text information from loading the c64 game, it says in there that it failed to open both the ‘…sdl-joymap-C64.vjm ‘ and ‘…sdl-hotkey-C64.vkm’. Does this have any relevance?

Anonymous
    Inactive

Here is some more information that can hopefully help: